Skip to main content

How do I remove the default user?

Learn how to remove the default user when running ClickHouse Server.

Removing the default user​

In this guide, we're going to learn how to remove the default user from ClickHouse Server.

We can do this by creating a YAML file (let's call it remove_default_user.yaml) that has the following content

The location of this file depends on how we have ClickHouse installed.

Running the executable directly​

If we're running the ClickHouse directly (clickhouse server), we need to put the file under the config.d directory.

When we run ClickHouse Server:

We'll see the following line in the logs:

And we'll be unable to connect using clickhouse client:

Docker or installed​

If we're running ClickHouse via Docker or have it installed on our machine, we need to put the file under the /etc/clickhouse-server/users.d directory instead.

So if we're running with Docker, we can mount the config.d directory that we created earlier to /etc/clickhouse-server/users.d:

We can then search the server logs to check that it gets picked up:

We should see the following line:

· 2 min read